bread · sourdough

100% Rye Sourdough Bread and Roses

a rose

Ready for an authentic rye bread? I’m always ready! In this post I share with you a simple recipe for this commonly quite tricky sort of bread – 100% rye sourdough bread. You see, the rye flour doesn’t have this ability to rise and form into loaves easily as the wheat flour does and so you might have hard time baking with just rye flour. But this recipe is good, believe me. BTW, the photos feature the decadent but still beautiful roses from the bouquet for my Mum’s b-day.

One Step 100% Rye Sourdough

A year ago – a comprehensive post on our dacha’s Summer Berries : ) followed by the recipes with Mediterranean Flavours.

One Step 100% Rye Sourdough Bread adapted from artisanbreads123.com will make a small dense very fragrant loaf, 100% rye!

The original site gives you a choice between making 2 loaves or 1 loaf (I chose the latter), so I direct you there for all the information. I might just note that I used honey and instead of vinegar I added some very acidic homemade apple juice, as I reckoned that my sourdough starter is already quite …sour enough : )

One Step 100% Rye Sourdough

The procedure will demand some effort of course such as making the dough the night before baking. But all in all it’s not that difficult at all, as long as you have your rye sourdough starter ready!

There’s actually no kneading required, you just make the dough, let it rest overnight and then try and shape your bread. I left the dough for 14 hours while I was at work and then shaped it in the evening, leaving to ‘rise’ again for a longer time than the stated  30-45 minutes. I didn’t make a slash on the top as my loaf decided to crack right on the bottom itself : )  I baked it about 45 minutes and then left it in the oven with the heat off for a bit.

One Step 100% Rye Sourdough

Result: The bread didn’t turn quite as puffed as I can see on the author’s blog, but then it shouldn’t probably be that very puffed as it’s 100% rye sourdough! And that is great. The crust is chewy, the crumb is dense. The loaf is small but heavy, as it is not airy but thick inside. I’d rather bake two loaves next time : )

You can check out this 100% rye bread that I’ve recently tried, or see the entire collection of rye and wheat sourdough bread here.

AND! With this bread I eagerly participate in the August edition of Panissimo, a monthly bread showcase created by Barbara and Sandra. Each month there’s a great collection of varied bread recipes, be it yeast or sourdough or sweet bread. Check this out!

panissimoMore bread soon!

G.

9 thoughts on “100% Rye Sourdough Bread and Roses

  1. thank you so much for spreading the word. and for this beautiful contribution. I love rye bread and this is a true rye! I happen to hear about a “Russian rye” bread, is this bread similar to that? I think it rose wonderfully, even if is a 100% rye (what a challenge!). ciao, barbara

  2. Thank you, Barbara! For the Russian rye bread you can see these two posts here: Riga Rye Bread (https://hepibooka.wordpress.com/2012/02/18/two-rrrrrye-breads-raisin-and-riga/) or Authentic Borodinskiy Rye Bread (https://hepibooka.wordpress.com/2012/11/13/borodinskiy-rye-bread/). Although the recipes are not Russian, they resulted in something truly authentic! I’m sure you’ll like them! The true Russian bread is – for me – round, 100% rye, with rye malt and moist crumb. MMMMMM =) We even make them using cabbage leaves! I have bookmarked such a recipe but still have to try it.

  3. Красивый хлебушек!! И, кстати, прикольно было в дом Бильдерлинга заглянуть)!

  4. =) Спасибо) Да, мне самой было интересно, тут явно действует принцип “первого впечатления” (misleading…)

  5. ¡Muchas gracias por la receta! Acá en Argentina los panes de centeno comerciales contienen baja proporción de centeno mezclado con harina de trigo.

Say something...