Autumn in Vyborg, a Rusty but Sunny Day

Sunny Vyborg

I just realized I failed to this final post in my ‘Autumn in…’ series covering several Sundays spent in and about St Petersburg this autumn. It’s now so very Happy-New-Year-like in the city that looking at these photos I took in Vyborg back in October makes me recall what’s there underneath all that thick layer of snow🙂

Sunny Vyborg

That was a rusty but sunny autumn day in Vyborg, actually a really warm day which is not very common for this northern town. Vyborg attracts me by its non-Russian looks and its atmosphere of a really old city which grew around the castle step by step.

Sunny Vyborg

Vyborg Castle is the city’s must par excellence. You just have to go there. It’s still been renovated and they keep digging all around it, discovering new layers of history. This time we had a chance to walk around the immense walls of the castle.

Sunny Vyborg

And of course we made sure to spend some time on top of St Olaf’s Tower (and even more time waiting in the line to get there). And of course I made sure to bump my head on that metal thing while telling other to be careful and keep their head low.

Sunny Vyborg

I absolutely love the rusty and rustic look of the castle. I would even want them to forget about renovation and just keep it ‘frozen’ as it is. Please.

Sunny Vyborg

And although nothing doesn’t really change much in the castle (apart from the new zones that they’ve now opened to public), each time I return I photograph the same details.

Sunny Vyborg

We didn’t go to the museum this time as we we trying to ti catch the fast train back (a bit over 1 hour compared to a slow train of 2 hours or a very slow train of 3 hours, cause it’s Sunday and all the babushkas have to get on at the dacha stops in between Vyborg and St Petersburg). The museum is situated behind this wall inside the castle:

Sunny Vyborg

And here’s not your regular entrance to a (castle) restroom:

Sunny Vyborg

It was a shame spending so little time in the city that day but the sun really helped enjoy every moment.

Sunny Vyborg

Autumn seems so warm and cozy in these photos.

Sunny Vyborg

Lines:

Sunny Vyborg

Note the shoemaker’s vane:

Sunny Vyborg

Knitted chair decorations next to a 16th century burger’s house:

Sunny Vyborg

Each time I go to Vyborg I tell myself that I will finally go away from the old center to see the Finnish Art-Nouveau parts of the city but so far I only managed to catch a glimpse of the Alvar Aalto’s library. Anyway, that was a very fine day.

Sunny Vyborg

More information on Vyborg in my previous post.

This post goes to St Petersburg series.

G.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Повезло с погодкой! Красиво!

    Reply

Say something...

