Peach and Raspberry Jam Bars

Peach Crumb Bars

Before we plunge into more sweet recipes I’ve tried during this festive time, let me share with you some of the shots taken in the streets of the brightly decorated St Petersburg these days.

St Petersburg decorations

This is a small side street that is just off Nevsky prospekt in St Petersburg.In the background you can see the statue of Catherine the Great in front of the Aleksandrinsky Theatre which I vividly remember for a Chekhov’s Three Sisters 3+ hour performance I once attended and almost died🙂 I guess we were either too young for that or it was a very boring performance which was to blame. Anyway, this street looks very European-like, I think Peter the Great would have been very satisfied with the result.

St Petersburg decorations

And this is the Dom Knigi bookstore in one of the city’s most recognizable art nouveau buildings, Singer house. Behind it is the no less famous Kazan Cathedral, looking very much like that Vatican cathedral. All these lights make St Pete appear even more artificial and theatrical than it is in summer, for example. And yet I just love it (if you exclude the crowds, the shopping craze and the cold weather). Particularly now with the snow and the coziness of the lights coming from the windows. Makes you wanna soak in the frozen beauty of the city and happily go home to enjoy a cup of tea…

St Petersburg decorations

And here comes the dilemma of what to have with your cup of tea, indeed. Winter is the time when you have to switch on your imagination to make something different without having all those relatively cheap and fresh ingredients available. This is the time when all your jam and canned stocks will come in handy. We’ll start with a great combination of orange and canned Greek peaches:

Peach Crumb Bars

1 year ago – Winter Fairy Tale and Semolina Bread

2 years ago – Chocolate, Cocoa, Coffee and Cakes

3 years ago – Join the Soviet New Year Table

4 years ago – 4 White Breads and Old New Year

Peach Crumb Bars adapted from www.cookingclassy.com will make zesty peach pies, soft and sugary. For the entire recipe please visit the link provided. Here are my changes and remarks:

I used a large can of Greek peaches in syrup instead of fresh fruit, resulting in having less (possibly much less) filling than required. I blended them and added quite a lot of orange zest instead of orange juice as the canned peaches are quite gooey even when drained. I used sweetened condensed milk (a rare bird in my kitchen, it was brought in by a friend) instead of sour cream.

As for the procedure, I followed it without changes.

Peach Crumb Bars

Remarks: Even though my baking dish was quite large, I think the dough layers were a bit too much for the amount of filling I had. I would increase the former next time. On the other hand, the dough recipe was very successful, I loved the addition of sour cream (condensed milk in my case) which helped make these crumbs much more … crumbly! 

Peach Crumb Bars

Result: Perfectly transportable and soft, these bars are a full-fledged peach pie! If you bake these you will understand what I mean when I say I enjoyed those sugar crystals in combination with the soft peach pieces and the zest in particular… I can only imagine making these with 4,5 cups of fresh Greek peaches, mmm!

Raspberry Oatmeal Crumble Bars

And here’s yet another winter recipe this time with jam. You can use up your leftover jam with this recipe, no doubt any jam will do:

Raspberry Oatmeal Crumble Bars adapted from www.averiecooks.com will make super-sweet, over-sweet jam bars with a crunchy crumb. For the entire recipe please visit the link provided. Here are my changes and remarks:

To imitate the required ‘old-fashioned whole-rolled oats’ I used a 4-cereal porridge (barley, rye, oat, wheat) and – why not – added some lemon zest too. My jam was with seeds but obviously too sugary for such a recipe. The procedure is very easy, no much time needed.

Raspberry Oatmeal Crumble Bars

Remarks: I would suggest adding less sugar to the crumb or using a less sweet jam. Or just use less jam – I added quite a lot because I thought the bars would be very dry. With the time the bottom crumb layer gets surprisingly not soggy with the jam but quite hard instead.

Result: A bit too sweet for my taste but definitely very crunchy and sugar-addictive.

Adding these winter recipes to my Sweet collection.

G.

Say something...

