Orange and David Gilmour

Orange, France

We’ve finally arrived at that point in my Provence story, where David Gilmour himself enters the stage! And although you can hardly guess where he is on that very stage from that very far where I was sitting, his voice was right in my ears as if he was singing, oh yes, only for me🙂

Orange, France

When I arrived in Orange in the morning of the D day, I walked by the concert venue – the Roman amphitheater which you actually can hardly walk by without noticing🙂 But well the first thing I did indeed notice was this truck with stuff marked ‘David Gilmour’ being unloaded. From the non-touristy looking crowds and the people in all sorts of Pink Floyd and David Gilmour T-shirts you could easily tell that something related should be going on in Orange.

Orange, France

And yet it all could have been ruined as it was raining cats and dogs from the very early morning! I managed to make a short walk in Orange with no rain when it suddenly started pouring down like hell (which made me run like hell🙂 to the market).

Orange, France

So I spent some time under the shed looking at the beautiful carrots, leeks and radishes🙂 Thanks to the market people who did not grumble even though I was not buying anything, just waiting for the rain to stop.

Orange, France

Wait, there’s a better shot:

Orange, France

Standing there looking at the flood the rain caused made me really wonder if the concert in the open air antic theatre would happen after all🙂 But that was just a tiny challenge and a nerve-rattling (for Gilmour no doubt!) ‘first act’ of the concert. Meanwhile, I was taking the advantage of the rain and photographing everything around me.

Orange, France

The city itself did not impress me much I must say. It has a rather ruinous or abandoned look – and not just because of the Roman amphitheatre and other ancient stuff. The buildings were a bit run down and seemed to be left by their owners who might have got tired of all the tourists visiting the aforementioned ancient stuff.

Orange, France

A relic from the past which has more attraction to me than the ancient ruins – a solid advertisement for the company producing fizzy drinks:

Orange, France

All in all – and especially with the moody weather that day – Orange did not shine as its name might suggest but it was  rather a blemished sight.

Orange, France

The center of the city is full of tourist-related commerce but as soon as you just turn into a side street – and here you are face-to-face with this

Orange, France

or this

Orange, France

more – finally – ORANGE details

Orange, France

yellow looked even more yellow with the sun which did enter the stage at some point:

Orange, France

Liked those weird corners which I spotted in several cities:

Orange, France

This ‘corner’ was also pretty noticeable:

Orange, France

As you see, the sun got hold of the day and almost entirely dried all the seats in the ancient amphitheatre before the concert started – while I was climbing up the road to see that very amphitheatre from above. But the police got there before me and was on the guard to keep everybody away from the most comfortable points from where the concert could be witnessed for free🙂 – which they did after all (and got their day pay too!). There were people gathering all around, some of them without tickets and so hoping to somehow sneak past the police and get their free tickets. But most of the people were tourists who arrived too late (the theatre closed earlier for the show) and couldn’t even see the damned amphitheatre from above either!🙂

Orange, France

Sitting there on top of a ruined wall (like in Greece, no one seems to really care for those ex-fortress ruins) and all of a sudden listening to the sound check somewhere down there (you couldn’t see the theatre from that point but the sound was super!), that was quite an act already! And then I heard this song which I love so much…

Some of my on-top-of-the-hill recordings from the soundcheck have a better quality than those from the concert. And yes, the concert! First half was dedicated to me persuading myself to believe this is real and the second half to actually enjoying the show! Also, there was this sunset just before the concert started.

Orange, France

The amphitheatre stuffed with people sitting on the ancient stones (the sun has done a good job but still I sat on everything I had with me:), inevitable Russian speech around me, the mistral and the stars! And the voice, of course. The guitar. But most of all – the voice.

Looks like this recorded song is also from the same album, the 1994 Devision Bell:

And another one, just to give you a notion of how GREAT that was – the guitar overdose of Sorrow from the 1987 A Momentary Lapse of Reason:

Actually one of the songs from Gilmour’s new album sounds pretty much as if it came from the 1980s, Today. I liked how they performed it and In Any Tongue (also from the new album which I of course bought on my last day in France), one of the highlights of both concert and the album.

Orange, France

I could have also told you about trying to climb the stairs to get to those cheaper seats on the top of the theatre and then making my way down through the crowd, then waiting for the non-existing taxi after the concert… But these things, you will forget them soon. The things that will remain are those that made that day a very special day.

Orange’s checklist:

  • postcards – none
  • market – yep
  • local food – nope
  • bookstore – nope
  • local history museum – nope
  • old town – quite curious with its ruins and recycled stones here and there.

The photo above was taken on the following day when I was already leaving Piolenc and Orange and heading towards my next destination. Which I will tell you about in my next post!

Adding this post to my Travel series.

G.

Say something...

