Rolling Pin Recipes: Flatbread, Pie and Sweet Buns

Orange Sweet Rolls from www.melskitchencafe.com

Recently I’ve made these three recipes in one go and then realized I accidentally chose recipes requiring a rolling pin. Interestingly, they also constitute an all-round meal – you will roll out pastry for the pie, even roll the bread and roll-unroll the dessert! Here’s a rolling pin recipe digest, quite international as it often happens with what I cook: a British, a Lebanese and an American. We’ll start with the pie.

Cauliflower cheese tart from www.bbcgoodfood.com

See the cauliflower? I used to hate it… But then, I used to not eat lots of things I’m enjoying now. But they all belong to the vegetarian categories🙂

A year ago – Midsummer Roses in Pavlovsk and Almond Puff

Two years ago – Russian Cold Summer Soup Okroshka and St Petersburg Sky and All That Bread

Three years ago – Sourdough Bread with Dates and Flaxseeds

Cauliflower Cheese Tart adapted from www.bbcgoodfood.com will make a soft and cheesy pie with a sort of white sauce / béchamel and vegetable filling. For some reason the recipe is no longer available on BBC Good Food so I’m giving you an external link where the original recipe has been preserved.

Changes: I used frozen cauliflower, already broken into florets, which I thawed beforehand. Instead of cheddar (and Parmesan) I used some cheese (recently I’m very dissatisfied with what we get here in Russia…) + threw in leftover cooked millet (I didn’t add any extra flavour or anything – just boosted the nutritional value). I had no mustard, so added khmeli-suneli (Georgian herbs + pepper mix) and Provence salt (salt mixed with herbes de Provence).

As for the pastry, I used this recipe from mycookinggallery.blogspot.com which give you even more than you’ll need for a standard pie. A pretty successful pastry recipe! I didn’t mind the extra pastry around the edges but you might consider trimming them for finer looks.

I had to bake my pie longer, also several minutes on the top shelf so that it browns a bit.

Cauliflower cheese tart from www.bbcgoodfood.com

Remarks: The pie without the mustard is quite plain and I would suggest seasoning the cauliflower-cheese mixture well in any case. I would also add some green onion or basil, to brighten it up a bit. My Dad was also not happy with the extra dough on the sides, but then – nobody’s perfect🙂

Result: Almost soufflé-like vegetarian pie, soft but holding its shape perfectly. Although this tart requires some amount of cooking before you actually bake it, I think it’s worth it. It’s not what I usually make any way and once in a while one needs some sophistication🙂

Man'oushe from www.ashaggydoughstory.com

Man’oushe or Lebanese Flatbread adapted from www.ashaggydoughstory.com will make very soft white bread. Go to the link to see the entire recipe and the story behind it.

Changes: Instead of cake flour I used plain flour + some cornstarch. I forgot to add salt… Was actually a bit surprised the recipe did not ask for it🙂 though it did, as it turned out later. I also mixed up the process a bit, by rolling the dough before the second rise. As I did not have anything near the required “wild thyme spread” I mixed some olive oil + dried thyme + coarse salt. I baked all four flatbreads simultaneously so they required more time (had to switch the racks).

Man'oushe from www.ashaggydoughstory.com

Remarks: Most of the herbs will inevitably fall off but no worries, cause the oil + salt will remain. I froze these: flatbread is just the best option cause you can stack them on top of each other in the freezer.

Result: Very soft for flatbread! This recipe is very flexible as the author indicates – so push your imagination button🙂

Orange Sweet Rolls from www.melskitchencafe.com

And now some sweetness with these orange-y orange spirals!

Orange Sweet Rolls adapted from www.melskitchencafe.com will make soft but chewy buns which are just perfect for those who love eating them… unrolled!🙂

I added less salt and butter to the dough. To make warm buttermilk, I mixed kefir with hot water.

As for the filling, I used less sugar and less butter, also de-constructing it a bit by first spreading butter over the dough and then adding the sugar + orange zest mixture. And yes, I completely forgot to add the orange juice! So instead I used it as glaze (I skipped the glaze suggested by the author).

I tried twisting them (the original recipe will give you all the explanations) but they just wouldn’t hold the shape when rising. As I was making three recipes at a time, I had to postpone the baking of these rolls and so left them rising for even longer time. But apart from becoming quite puffy and touching each other, it did not hurt them. I baked my buns less than the indicated 22 minutes, they started browning too much.

   Orange Sweet Rolls from www.melskitchencafe.com

Remarks: My buns were not very sweet, so if you dare, add the entire cup of sugar into the filling. Bet they will create even more sugary syrup and turn into true sticky buns! Mother likes eating snail buns by un-snailing them – and these are very fine rolls for that!

Result: Super flavourful when baking, super-sunny when ready, these rolls are really nice and tasty! The filling is very orange-y, bright-looking and positively appetizing!

Orange Sweet Rolls from www.melskitchencafe.com

Adding these recipes to my Lunch / Dinner, Yeast Bread, Sweet and Country-specific (the first Lebanese recipe!) collections.

G.

Say something...

