St Petersburg · travel

Tribute to St Petersburg in Spring (2014)

Breaking Ice on Moyka River, St Petersburg

I have procrastinated with this post for 1 year. So here is a tribute to St Petersburg in spring – and a visual souvenir from last year. All I can say is that spring 2014 was much more dynamic in its events for me – while the nature was much more dormant than this year.

Breaking Ice on Moyka River, St Petersburg

I remember seeing this tremendous ice breaking on Moyka river. We admired it from the windows in our office. And then I was walking to Gostiny Dvor to purchase a birthday present for my colleague. Gostiny Dvor is a central department store which is veeery old, yellow (more yellow houses!) and has a very interesting perspective:

IMG_0006

The shop windows reflect the sunlight and visually widen the gallery.

IMG_0007

 And then I went to two birthdays in one day. The second one was in a cafe called ‘The Attic’ with all the Soviet paraphernalia you could imagine. There was also this lamp with the most recognizable symbols of St Petersburg (or rather – Leningrad). The spire of St Peter and Paul Cathedral and the Fortress:

IMG_0051

And St Isaac Cathedral with the typical St Pete street lights – but definitely not typical Soviet street lights!

IMG_0052

To these traditional St Petersburg / Leningrad symbols I could also add the spire of the Admiralty with the golden ship on the very top and the bridges during the white nights of course!

IMG_0001

Last year that was for me the ‘best view‘ one could have when working in St Petersburg. Well, I can always take a walk in the center and see it! Nostalgia is not killing me these days, by the way. All that happened – happened. And I’m glad that this post is published finally 🙂

All photos are from late March 2014.

Adding this post to my St Petersburg series.

G.

Say something...

