British recipe · Family recipe · pies · sweet

My Friend’s Granny’s Grated Pie and Apple Pudding

My Friend's Granny's "Grated" Pie

My friend’s Granny’s “Grated” Pie was what I was thinking of for quite some time. It’s one of those recipes that travelled from my friend’s family to my own. I do not make it often these days, though. But this recipe is hand-written in my thick recipe book, the one I started long before I became obsessed with baking. And you know well that you can trust those hand-written recipes passed on to you from Grannies!

My Friend's Granny's "Grated" Pie

I remember when we first made it at our dacha (the friend I’m talking about is my childhood friend whose family had their summer house across the road). We couldn’t wait for the pies to be ready! : ) Well, time passes (how many years since then? 9? more?) but I still can’t wait!

My Friend's Granny's "Grated" Pie

I’m not sure about the origin of this recipe (as is with so many family recipes) but it was dictated to us from memory. So I suppose that this pie was enjoyed during the Soviet times as well as it is now. Let’s make this recipe live!

A year agoCaucasian Cheese Pie and Some Winter Reflections

Two years agoPetite Alsace and Petits Pains

Three years ago2 Breads with Poolish

My Friend’s Granny’s “Grated” Pie adapted from a family recipe and translated for you. It will make that very pie which can only result from a hand-written recipe (and even better – known by heart!). Although the recipe uses Soviet glasses, you can use cups with no problem. See my remarks in italics.

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 glass of sugar – add less if your filling is very sweet
  • 250 g of margarine – this never happens with me these days : ) I used much less butter mixed with sunflower seed oil
  • 3-5 glasses of flour
  • 1/2 tsp of baking soda
  • some vinegar – a true Soviet housewife would use plain vinegar, but you can try milder variants
  • jam, fruit, … for the filling – the most typical would be jam, though. Mine was chunky apple jam + cinnamon

Procedure:

  1. First, beat eggs with sugar until white foam creates (yes, with your hand only!) then add softened margarine (butter) and mix well. Add a glass of flour. Then ‘extinguish’ the soda with vinegar by carefully pouring a very small amount of vinegar over a tablespoon with soda. The thing – not the tablespoon of course! – will make lots of pshhhhh noises, drop it directly into the pastry. This procedure is still used in Russia and a baking person would understand ‘extinguish the soda’ without explanation. Mix everything together. Add 2 to 4 glasses of flour (this time I needed just 2 more as I added much less butter) and mix well until the dough doesn’t stick to the tablespoon.
  2. Turn the pastry onto a surface and divide in two equal parts (although if you’re making a super-huge pie, you should work with the entire amount of the pastry). Shape each part as a thick log and then flatten it into a rectangle. Divide each rectangle into three equal parts. Join together two parts. Now you’ll have a big piece of pastry and a smaller one. Repeat with the second rectangle. Wrap the smaller pieces separately in plastic foil and put in the freezer for one hour. Chill the two bigger pieces in the fridge (wrap them too).
  3. Roll out the big pieces to the size of your pan – they will make the base for the pie (as I decreased the amount of butter, my pastry wouldn’t roll out nicely, so I just pressed it into the pan). You can use a round pan or a medium rectangular baking sheet (for a bigger and flatter pie). Grease the pan and transfer the pastry to the bottom, making borders so that the filling won’t escape. Place the filling on to the pastry. Take a smaller piece of pastry that has now become quite solid in the freezer and grate it on top of the filling, distributing the pastry all over the top (and that’s why it’s called grated!).
  4. Bake at 180’C for about 30 minutes until crust is created.

My Friend's Granny's "Grated" Pie

Remarks: This is after all a Soviet recipe and a family recipe – it is flexible and… makes 2 large pies. If you are not necessarily planning to have a family reunion soon, you might prefer to make just half of the pastry recipe. Use any jam leftovers, raw fruit with sugar and spices or virtually any sweet filling. I think it will survive even a rather runny filling!

My Friend's Granny's "Grated" Pie

Result: Time-proved, family-loved and tasty. And they do not stick to the pan as it’s with many jam pies I’ve tried! Be careful with the sugar (try to balance the filling and the amount of sugar you add to the pastry) and the rest will work out swimmingly! And do make two pies, cause these Granny’s treats tend to disappear much quicker than you might think…

My Friend's Granny's "Grated" Pie

You will be absolutely right if you think we’re not yet done with our apple harvest. ABSOLUTELY right! But we’re making our way towards it. Yes, in late January of the consequent year! O_o The first recipe I shared with you did not help us much with the boxes and piles and bags of raw apples but it did finish a large jar of apple jam that was in great need of using up. And here is yet another of those recipes that helped us with that 🙂 A British one.

Cinnamon apple pecan pudding from www.bbcgoodfood.com

Cinnamon Apple Pecan Hazelnut Pudding adapted from www.bbcgoodfood.com will make not much of a pudding but rather and apple cake with toasted nuts on top. And surprisingly for BBC Good Food, there’s not that much butter in it! Here are just my changes:

  – instead of xylitol I used plain sugar

 – added lots of small apples instead of using one (mysterious to me) 280g Bramley apple

 – topped the cake with whole hazelnuts instead of pecans

Result: A very quick and easy recipe (minus the time spent on dicing and grating the apple, omit the peeling part!), just what I needed. The apple pile got a bit smaller with a tasty cake! Whole nuts on top are a nice idea – they get super-toasted that way.

Adding these two to both my Apple and Sweet recipe collections. And to Leftovers!

G.

Say something...

