sweet

Sunken Apple and Honey Cake

Sunken Apple and Honey Cake from smittenkitchen.com

The apple season does not plan to end soon! Let me share a nice apple cake recipe with you. This is a quick post so that I have some more time and reason to procrastinate with the promised posts on my journey to Bulgaria and Greece.) And first – some shots of the same park, now seen in the nice autumn sun.

Autumn in St Pete

It seems that it was one of the last really warm days of our local Indian summer. It was moody today and how your perception of the city changes immediately! Yesterday I thought that if the weather continues to be that nice and I will have the chance to ride my bike, I will ask for nothing else =)

Autumn in St Pete

A year ago – Baked Comfort Food from Veggies

Two years ago – Peach, Apple, Plums and Banana: Pies and Rolls

Three years ago – Nina’s Vatrushka and ChocoCookies

Sunken Apple and Honey Cake adapted from smittenkitchen.com will make a delicious cake with super-soft fruit top and tasty dough part. Follow the link for the recipe.

My changes: I used the apples from our poor fallen apple tree – these apples never had a chance to ripen but they were just fine baked! I did not peel the apples.

I skipped the addition of lemon juice to the apples. And I forgot to add the sugar =) Although I added more sugar to the batter. I also made a mixture of regular flour with white rice flour. I didn’t make the glaze, just drizzled some honey and sprinkled cinnamon over the top of the warm cake.

Sunken Apple and Honey Cake from  smittenkitchen.com

Result: The top seems a little bit underbaked as it has all the juices from the apples, whereas the cake part is quite dense. I guess I just ignored the notes of the recipe’s author and squeezed in all the apples. The apples get very very soft, so don’t worry if your fruit for the cake is hard and not very ripe.

Sunken Apple and Honey Cake from smittenkitchen.com

A cake for sunny weather! =)

Sunken Apple and Honey Cake from smittenkitchen.com

Adding this recipe to my Apples page! Recent apple recipes can be found here.

G.

Say something...

