bread · sourdough

Good White Sourdough Bread

Sourdough Bread from www.breadinfo.com

In between my posts on St Petersburg and the environs, here’s a short one on white sourdough bread.This is the first time I resisted the temptation to make a rye (black) bread out of an originally wheat (white) sourdough bread recipe. You see, I always throw in some bran and increase the percentage of rye flour – not to forget that my sourdough culture is from rye flour! The same happens with white bread made with yeast, I can hardly ever leave the dough all-that-white, I just have to add in some wholewheat flour! Well, once this habit of mine even resulted in a rye… khachapuri! : )

Sourdough Bread from www.breadinfo.com

If you look at my sourdough bread page you’ll notice that the rye bread prevails. Perhaps because I’m too lazy to make sourdough bread for breakfast too. I also thin that the black bread that we eat at lunch and dinner is considered somewhat more … serious bread. As if white bread (which is normally a plain leavened bread) is less precious. So here’s the recipe for that all-white bread:

Sourdough Bread from www.breadinfo.com

A year ago – Working at the Hermitage. Almost (those were the days!)

Two years ago – Summer Berries

Sourdough Bread adapted from www.breadinfo.com will make white (!) sourdough bread with a soft dense crumb and a medium hard crust. Follow the link to see the entire recipe.

My changes: The recipe calls for 2 cups of sourdough starter, so in order to get this amount I fed my rye sourdough twice: first with rye flour and then with all purpose. I put in less sugar. As for the potato water, I used the water left from boiling potatoes. I didn’t brush the loaves with butter before baking.

I had to cut the time indicated for rising as I was in a hurry (to eat the bread), buts as for the procedure – it’s quite easy. And this cutting on time did not prevent the loaves from being really nicely shaped.

And that’s it – no more changes, no rye bran or malt added… Weird, uh? But here it is, finally, WHITE sourdough bread with almost no rye!

Sourdough Bread from www.breadinfo.com

Result:  Two well-shaped loaves of white sourdough bread which will cut into large slices. The crumb is dense but soft. Cannot say that this bread has a particularly distinct sourdough fragrance or taste (perhaps due to the decreased rising time) – it’s just plain good white bread!

P.S. Going to see more countries very soon! And probably will also continue my explorations of Russia too. We’ll see!

G.

Say something...

