Italian recipe · sweet · sweet bread

Winter Light and Lemon Cake

PLUMCAKE AL LIMONE SENZA SCUSE from lepadellefanfracasso.blogspot.com

I guess I’m repeating myself but there are some winter-related musings I seem to have each time the real snowy winter comes to St Petersburg. This snowy winter with it’s characteristic blue light and the occasional golden sunlight always remind me of the childhood when you would come back from school or a walk and feel cozy and warm, looking outside of the frosty window. Winter is being quite unpredictable this year but I’ve already had this feeling while walking across a snowy yard. But the unpredictability also affects the time required to get from one place to another. If it’s snowing or if it’s freezing, there are paths appearing on the ground that make the way much faster. But if it’s raining or the snow’s melting then… It takes really long time to get around.

Here’s this golden winter light that comes through the frosty windowpane in these soft yet distinct rays:

winter light rose

Within the very short time of the winter daylight, the rays travel around the kitchen illuminating some of my favourite objects there:

December light

I’ve been looking through my photos from the last winter and realized I took almost the same pictures from the same angles =) My dad’s collection of mugs, these are from Greece:

kitchen

Back to food. Here’s a nice and easy recipe of an Italian lemon cake:

A year ago –  and 

PLUMCAKE AL LIMONE SENZA SCUSE from lepadellefanfracasso.blogspot.com

Plumcake al limone senza scuse (Foolproof Lemon Cake) from lepadellefanfracasso.blogspot.com will make a super easy delicious cake. The recipe is translated from Italian with the permission of the author, Sandra Chabb. Grazie, Sandra! My remarks are in italics.

Ingredients: (use a yogurt pot to measure your ingredients)

  • 3 medium eggs
  • 1 yogurt pot
  • 11/2 pots of sugar
  • 3/4 pot of extravergin olive oil – I mixed in some orange juice
  • zest of 1 lemon – I also added poppy seeds
  • juice of 1 lemon – I added some orange juice too
  • 280 g self-rising flour – Or just regular flour + some soda, baking powder and a dash of salt

Procedure:

A faster option: put everything in the mixer until you get a creamy mixture. A slower option:  Mix the eggs with sugar using a whisk, then add the rest of the ingredients.

Bake at 180°C for about 30-35 minutes. Check if the cake is ready with a toothpick. Mine was not ready by this time, so I left it for actually about half an hour more, in total it took 1 hour to bake.

You could also make a glaze for the cake (which I did not): In a bowl mix 4 Tbs of powdered sugar with a splash of lemon juice and then pour the glaze over the cooled cake.

PLUMCAKE AL LIMONE SENZA SCUSE from lepadellefanfracasso.blogspot.com

Result: As the author says, the cake is Facile, veloce e buono buono – Easy. Fast. And oh so good! True =) On the scale of 0 to ten this cake is … well, just very easy and quick! I somehow associate lemon cakes with poppy seeds so naturally added some to the batter. Guess the nagging to change something just never leaves me alone : )

PLUMCAKE AL LIMONE SENZA SCUSE from lepadellefanfracasso.blogspot.com

Will come back, I promise.

G.

One thought on “Winter Light and Lemon Cake

Say something...

