pies · sourdough · traditional Russian recipe

Autumn Leaves and Karelian Pies

IMG_0015

Time is running fast, already mid-October, the wind takes the colourful leaves down. This post has been waiting since the beginning of September – I thought I would go to the place where these pies are made but I didn’t. Instead of Karelia I have been to other pie- and bread-eating places. I made the recipe I’m sharing with you today almost as soon as I discovered it on one of my favourite food blogs, cindystarblog.blogspot.com. So here is yet another take on the traditional Karelian pies, also popular in Finland as they are in the North of Russia where the rye flour is (or at least used to be) the king. 

A year ago –  Autumn Colours and Karelia with another recipe of the traditional Karelian kalitka pies + some comfort food for autumn dinners

Two years ago – Creamy Peach Tart and Kitchen Reborn – cannot believe it was just two years ago…

Karelian pasties or Karelian pies (Karjalanpiirakka) from cindystarblog.blogspot.com

Karelian Pasties or Karelian Pies (Karjalanpiirakka) adapted from cindystarblog.blogspot.com will make very handy pies (like Cornish pies but open) with super-thin and crunchy rye crust and a savoury filling. Go to the blog to see the entire recipe.

My changes:

The milky rice filling was not enough for the quantity of dough, so I made a second one – mashed potatoes + chopped raw onion + egg + fresh herbs + seasoning. Here’s a picture of the potato version:

Karelian pasties or Karelian pies (Karjalanpiirakka) from cindystarblog.blogspot.com

As for the dough, I added a bit of rye non-fed sourdough and thus made these pies even more rye-ish, for more authenticity perhaps =)

Result: These pies are really handy, you hold one in your palm and they just spring into your mouth : ). The two textures come together -the creaminess of the rice filling and the crispiness of the rye pastry.

Remarks: I somehow forget to bring the edges of these pies closer to the center each time I make them so they look more like boats than a flat pie. I’m sure you can make this pie with leftover rice too, just add some creamy binding agent – sour cream or egg?

Karelian pasties or Karelian pies (Karjalanpiirakka) from cindystarblog.blogspot.com

There is an idea of a sweet treat to accompany your lunch or dinner: PAIN d’ÉPICES – I’m eating a slice of it right now =) I used black currant jam instead of honey and apple jam with apple bits instead of orange confiture, added some wholewheat flour and omitted dried fruit… and the spicy loaf turned out great – very moist and chewy!

To my mixed relief + disappointment I discovered that the only city left for me to visit this pre-application-deadline season is the capital, Moscow. Will finally see my sis’s apartment and probably try some cool Moscow food, haha.

G.

Say something...

