sweet · sweet bread

Cinnamon-Roll Pull-Apart Loaf with Apples

apples in a basket

It’s not sunny today here, kind of gloomy with specks of rain. And remembering the warm early autumn days here’s a great dessert you can enjoy in any weather! We got some apples this year at our dacha – and I mean really just ‘some’, almost nothing compared to the last year’s apple craze. We’re still eating the apple stock and I came by the recipe I’m about to share with you just because of this never-ending stock of apple jam in particular. Actually, the recipe didn’t require any jam at all =) So here is my version of this sweet leavened bread. It’s kind of a funny looking loaf, cause first you cut it in separate pieces and then re-form it.

Cinnamon Roll Pull-Apart Loaf from www.theknead4speed.com

Cinnamon Roll (Apple) Pull-Apart Loaf adapted from www.theknead4speed.com will make a soft and sweet (apple!) treat

Go to the website for the original recipe, here are my changes:

I didn’t add the egg as it was not mentioned in the procedure, I added some ginger to the dough. As for the filling, I spread some leftover apple jam instead of scattering dark brown sugar on the dough strips, which made this loaf an apple one.

Cinnamon Roll Pull-Apart Loaf from www.theknead4speed.com

As for the procedure, I had to bake the loaf longer and I didn’t make any glaze once it was ready. At the end of baking the loaf started browning too much on the top but I had to keep it for some minutes more in the oven. Anyway, the loaf was very soft inside!

Cinnamon Roll Pull-Apart Loaf from www.theknead4speed.com

Result: I think that the soft apple pieces added that extra something that turned the familiar cinnamon-sugar bread into a more interesting treat. You can pull the pieces apart and I liked that they had those bits of apples each =) And this might be a jam leftovers recipe, just try it with your favourite jam!

apples in a basket

Those were great apples from this year harvest by the way! Guess the trees put all their energy into this basket : )

I’m going to Yekaterinburg, ‘the capital of the Urals’, today on another business trip. I will also visit Perm – both cities I have never been to. I really hope to get a chance to sample somewhat more authentic food than (although quite good!) pizza Margarita and Greek salad in a cafe ironically called Karavay ( = loaf of bread) in Cherepovets, Vologda region! Well, this is a very common thing here in the cities when you get all possible Italian and Japanese food and almost nothing from the Russian or the local cuisine. Let’s see!

G.

One thought on “Cinnamon-Roll Pull-Apart Loaf with Apples

Say something...

