bread · British recipe

Herb Buns Digest

Before this post gets 1 month old, I have to publish it.) Been on my first business trip this year, to the land of rough urban landscape and miraculously warm moments of getting to know people. I didn’t get a chance to sample lots of traditional food though, actually ate pizza and Greek salad… But will try next time, even if I will have to try hard 😉

I’m glad to be back, there’s this feeling of your home town that nothing can ever beat!

Reflexions of St Petersburg

Meanwhile, here are the recipes, a kind of a recipe digest for some of the herb rolls / buns I tried (almost) recently.

Dan Lepard's green onion and sage loaf from www.guardian.co.uk

Two years agoNina’s Vatrushka and ChocoCookies , Introduction to Soviet Creativity and Practicality and Some More Greece on a Moody Day

A year agoPeach, Apple, Plums and Banana: Pies and Rolls (actually written after the first trip to Vologda, this year I went there again)

Dan Lepard’s Green Onion and Sage Loaf adapted from www.guardian.co.uk will make a bunch of slightly tangy (because of sage) savoury buns

The changes: I added rye and wheat brans + cornmeal, activated active yeast in some warm water, used less oil and instead of the egg I soaked some flax seeds in water. I also had to use more water. My sage was dried and I sprinkled some black and white sesame seeds on top instead of salt.

I followed the procedure described in the recipe, which was quite easy.

And here is the result in the early-early morning light:

Dan Lepard's green onion and sage loaf from www.guardian.co.uk

The buns were soft and a bit tangy ’cause the bits of sage had kind of a distinct taste.

Dan Lepard's green onion and sage loaf from www.guardian.co.uk

Of course almost all the seeds fell off in the end 😉

Dan Lepard's green onion and sage loaf from www.guardian.co.uk

This early, rising sun light is almost reddish-golden.

Dan Lepard's green onion and sage loaf from www.guardian.co.uk

A stark difference with the day light:

Overnight Soft Herb Rolls from www.foodgal.com

… and another herb bun recipe:

Overnight Soft Herb Rolls from www.foodgal.com

Overnight Soft Herb Rolls from www.foodgal.com will make even softer buns with lots of herbs inside and a tight crust

Changes: I used less yeas, less sugar and instead of dill, chives and rosemary leaves I added coriander. I substituted butter with oil, added wholewheat to the all-purpose flour and used no egg nor salt on top of the buns.

I made just 4 larger buns instead of 12 and I didn’t chill the dough before baking so there is no actual need for these buns to rest overnight.

Overnight Soft Herb Rolls from www.foodgal.com

Result: Soft. : )

And again the early sun light and more buns…

Garlic Rolls from tasteofpearlcity.blogspot.com

Garlic Rolls adapted from tasteofpearlcity.blogspot.com will make a whole circle of chewy savoury garlicy buns

Changes: I mixed in wholewheat + wheat bran, decreased the sugar but increased the water. As for the garlic butter I used much less butter, Herbes de Provence and no salt.

These were good with cheese!

Garlic Rolls from tasteofpearlcity.blogspot.com

Result: Chewy. And cool to pull the rolls apart!

Garlic Rolls from tasteofpearlcity.blogspot.com

I seem to have less time now but there are surely some nice recipes I’m going to share with you soon!

G.

Say something...

