pies · sweet

Peach Cheese Cake for Victory Day

Victory Day is a very important day here, a holiday and another reason to drink a lot for some, but surely a very meaningful day. Apart from the traditional military parade on the Red Square in Moscow, a fireworks show in the evening (even in small towns), concerts with war-time songs, family outings, there are also less and less people with medals and flowers each year. 67 years have passed already! and also – FOUR years of war… There’s no way I can express my thanks, my appreciation and deep respect to them in a due way here, but I just want to express it in every possible way. We celebrate Victory Day on the 9th of May, not on the 8th, but it seems with all this very nice weather people have started celebrating even earlier. Usually, my family gathers at our dacha place, and as it sometimes quite cold on the 9th of May in our parts, we used to watch the parade on the TV, sitting on the sofa and drinking tea. Today is an exceptionally warm and sunny day, people are out barbecuing perhaps, but there are also lots of them visiting some monuments and lying flowers (traditionally – red carnations) to commemorate the war, the people, the courage and say your thanks to being alive after all. Life goes on!

The two photos of basil here is just a part of what you can see on our windowsill. We’ve become real basil fans with my Mother, and the pots with home grown basil make us cheer up =) If you rub the leaves a bit, here comes the wonderful aroma!

This day I also did two things I haven’t done for more than half year – I was jogging in the morning and cycling in the evening! That was nice =) and this cake was also very nice:


Cardamom-scented Peach and Curd Cheese Cake adapted from nami-nami.blogspot.com will give you a wonderful tall cheesecake which is really cardamom scented!
Ingredients

Crust:
100 g unsalted butter, at room temperature – as is my habit, I used less
85 g caster sugar (100 ml) – I used just regular sugar
1 large egg
180 g all-purpose flour (300 ml) – I added a bit more
1 tsp ground cardamom – I still have some cardamom in pods I bought in Greece, which I grounded + added some already ground
0.5 tsp baking powder
a pinch of salt

Filling:
400 g canned apricot halves (you can also use peaches) – which I did, the already traditional tinned Greek peaches! which I also halved, making quarters instead of halves
500 g curd cheese or creamy farmer’s cheese – I used 5% cottage cheese
200 g sour cream – mine was 15% fat
2 large eggs
85 g caster sugar (100 ml) – I also added some semolina, as the filling seemed so liquid
2 tsp vanilla sugar or 1 tsp good-quality vanilla extract – I used regular vanilla extract

Topping:
a handful of sliced almonds (optional)

{the remaining peach quarter’s on top}

Method (copied with remarks)

To make the crust: cream the butter and sugar until combined and pale. Add the egg, stir until combined. Fold in the dry ingredients. Press the pastry onto the base and sides of a buttered and lined (I just buttered mine) 26 cm loose-bottomed springform tin. Place into the fridge to rest for 30 minutes (I also covered the base with cling film).

{look how tall the cake is!}

Making the filling: combine the curd cheese and sour cream. Beat in the eggs, then add the sugar and vanilla. Whisk until well combined. (At this point I was not sure the filling was thick enough to support the weight of peaches, so I added quite a blob of semolina…) Spoon the filling onto the cake tin.

Drain the apricots (peaches) and gently press onto the filling, cut-side down (I also halved the halves=) as they were quite heavy). Sprinkle almond slices on top (I had none).

Bake in the middle of a pre-heated 175 ‘C oven for about 50 to 60 minutes (mine required an hour), until the cake is light golden on top and the filling is just a wee bit wobbly – it’ll set overnight. (which is true! especially with semolina it had no problems=)

The result is more than just positive! Although it’s not very sweet – if you prefer more sugary things, add more sugar,  – the peaches make up for it nicely. I would recommend to keep your cake in the fridge (as is the rule, so to say, with cottage cheese containing foods).

Mm, basil! can’t wait to use these lovely leaves in some recipe=)))

G.

Say something...

