cookies · sweet · sweet bread

2 Energy-Boosting Sweets to Keep Your Mind and Spirit Up

www.kingarthurflour.com

-23’C… kinda freezing! And also my home is getting crazier than even in the worst days before…

Ok, I need some energy-boosting food… And here are Soft and Chewy Vanilla-Orange Cranberry Cookies  from www.kingarthurflour.com , a very unusual combination, sweet and citrus, yummy!!!

Ingredients

•    1/2 cup (8 tablespoons) butter
•    3/4 cup sugar
•    grated peel of 1 medium to large orange
•    1 tsp vanilla extract
•    1/8 tsp baking powder
•    1/2 tsp salt
•    1 large egg
•    1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
•    2 cups dried cranberries; or a mixture of dried cranberries and toasted chopped walnuts or pecans – I chose walnuts & dried cranberries, but added less than 2 cups altogether

[just look at that gorgeous cranberry thingy with some brown sugar!]

[and heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeere tooooooooo!!!]

Method (here is a copy of the recipe)

Preheat the oven to 215 ‘C. Lightly grease two baking sheets, or line them with parchment (which I did).
In a large bowl, beat together the butter, sugar, orange peel, vanilla, baking powder, and salt.
Beat in the egg. The mixture may look slightly curdled; that’s OK.
Add the flour and dried cranberries (or cranberries and nuts), stirring until well combined.
Drop the dough by heaping teaspoonfuls onto the baking sheets, leaving space between them. A teaspoon cookie scoop works very well here. Using the flat bottom of a glass dipped in sugar, flatten the dough balls slightly. I used brown demerara sugar and also had to dip my glass first in some water and only then it worked!
Bake the cookies for 8 to 9 minutes, until they’re barely set, and a light golden brown around the edges. Don’t over-bake; if you do, the cookies will be hard, not soft and chewy. Gently lift one of the cookies and look at the bottom; it shouldn’t be brown.
Remove the cookies from the oven, and cool them right on the pan. If you need a pan to bake the remainder of the cookies, give the cookies about 5 minutes to set before transferring them to a rack to cool completely.

Those went down a storm and ended quickly, I even don’t remember whether they kept at least several days…

Can’t keep from inserting another photo of them;)

Another recipe tonight is a bit strange, perhaps, but also worth trying, as it contains both bananas and chocolate!

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread  adapted from tidymom.net will make a kinda tangy loaf with just what your brain needs!

  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 3-4 mashed bananas – I used three
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour – here I forgot to put all the flour as I was distracted by my Granny…
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda – I also added some baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon – which I supplemented with some ginger
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips – haha, I put 4 fructose sweets which we bought for our all-eating Granny…
  • walnuts if desired – yes, much desired=) and also I sprinkled some decorations on the top, just like this:

Method (here is a copy of the recipe)

Preheat oven to 175 ‘C.
Cream together sugar and butter, add eggs one at a time. Mix in milk, bananas and vanilla.
Stir in dry ingredients.  Do not over mix the batter. You don’t want it smooth. Over mixing the batter will give you tough, rubbery bread
Pour into greased loaf pan.
Bake until bread is golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean, about 60 mins for regular loaf pan, or 30 mins for mini loaves. I had to bake my loaf under foil and also at 200 ‘C as I forgot that 1/3 cup or so of flour…

They say the frost will soon go away and we’ll get our quite comfortable -7 – -10 ‘C (yep, they do seem better after -23!). Let’s hope!

Wish you a very nice week with wonderful people around you. With your healthy and all-things-in-the-right-place closest & dearest people.

G.

9 thoughts on “2 Energy-Boosting Sweets to Keep Your Mind and Spirit Up

  1. BTW, In Puerto Rico is 24 right now… but I need some Spirit boost food…is quite cold for me here without my friends… :p

  2. Tell me something, I have oranges here, not as orange as the one in your picture, actually doesnt look so well… I should grate the peel? or the white thing between the skin and the juice?like, really tiny? or big ones?

  3. Melinaki mou, the one in the picture is actually a tangerine (mandarin), but when you need zest – just take a small-hole grater and grate all the coloured skin – although I usually also grate some of the white thing underneath as I’m over-practical sometimes=) With lemons I usuallly grate all the skin, as it’s thin, but with thick-skin oranges better just grate the orange part! good luck!
    p.s. grace a toi, ma famille a decouvert pomelo (que j’ai goute pour la premiere fois chez toi)!! c’etait tres bien, merci! they loved it=)

  4. Finally I made them… SO GOOD AND CHEWY… I needed to change a few things since my mom is diabetic, so I used the Stevia, thats the plant for sweetened so is perfect for receipes that have a lot of sugar like cookies. I just add 1/5 of normal sugar and 1/6 of stevia. Our dried cranberries are super sweet so I just add 1 1/2 cup. I grated the peel of a funny orange because was the best look one jejeje…now I have in my kitchen beautiful sexy cranberry cookies…and my parents can eat them. Plus I made the cornbread from Serbia, the one Jovanka’s mom made for me and its perfect…I just need a “chin chin” for my glorious baking morning…Spasiva…

  5. wohooo, that’s great!! I’m glad that you finally tried them, they’re so mmmm!!!! =) ahhhh, give me the recipe for Serbian bread, pleeeeeeeease! I have cornmeal just on hand, so can make it too. Thanks!

  6. The same receipe that you have of cornbread but you use yogurt (heavy liquid) and 300gr. of cottage cheese. I need some sarrisin in my life….

Say something...

