bread · French recipe

2 Breads with Poolish

Hi there people! Haven’t been here for 2 weeks already, but I have an apology=) I’ve been typing so much at work, that my poor index finger aches and, well, I prefer to avoid computer a bit these days.

Anyway, I’ve been cooking as usual, lots of things got eaten before there were any bright hours with good lighting… We made Greek lentil soup from a recipe on a package of lentils bought back in Thessaloniki, I made Peach Clafoutis from canned Greek peaches, well, not only Greek things, of course, I also baked some Italian crackers, lots of bread, like very strange rye bread with sauerkraut O_o and also a bunch of yeast cinnamon buns, chocolate cake, well… =) We also watched If Tomorrow Comes with my Mum and I finished reading Secret Garden. I also got some new letters! And sent one in reply already. People, do write letters, they give such a boost of good emotions when you discover your mail box is not empty!

Ok, now let’s turn to bread. As these two recipes are the only ones ‘documented’ with photos, I’m giving you again more bread. Now this is the bread that requires an overnight sponge (or poolish), so take it into account if you want to bake them. But just look at that crust!… )))

French Countryside Bread with Poolish (from mydiscoveryofbread.blogspot.com) – will make a really pain roustique, with a gorgeous crust!
Ingredients:

Poolish:
240 g lukewarm water
2g dry yeast – I used active dry yeast
200 g all-purpose flour
20 g wheat bran – I also added rye bran
20 g rye flour
Dough:
the poolish
200 g lukewarm water
2 g dry yeast – here I used instant yeast
500 g all-purpose flour
14 g salt

Method: (I’m copying from the original recipe)


Poolish:
The evening before you make the poolish, mix flour, yeast and water. Cover up and leave @ room temperature for 8 – 16 hours.
Dough:
Mix flour, yeast, poolish and water in a bowl (The original recipe asked for a mixer but I did everything by hand). Knead for 5 minutes. Add the salt and mix another 5 minutes. The dough should be smooth and come off the bowl.
Transfer the dough to a lightly oiled container. Cover and ferment at room temperature for 1 hour. Fold after 30 minutes and leave the dough to rise for another 30 minutes.
Turn the dough into a well floured counter. Form the dough into a loose ball and leave for 10 minutes to rest.
Form into a ball and proof for 45 minutes or until the size increased 50%.
In the meantime pre-head the oven at 230 ‘C. You need to have steam, so prepare for this. – I followed the method with a pan where – for want of smaller stones – I put a huge stone that has been lying around since I remember myself=).
Transfer the loaves to parchment paper and score them.
Place the loaves into the oven and pour hot boiling water on the stones. Close the oven door quickly.
Bake with steam for 13 minutes and 22 without steam until they are nicely brown colored.
Cool completely on a wire rack. – I needed less time, about 18 more without steam, not 22. After I slashed the loaf, it fell apart a bit but in the end it was OK!

The result is obvious=)

***

The other recipe is without any nationality but really nice. It’s also kind of rustic, and although I failed to attain the original shape with some kind of a ‘cap’ on top of the ‘body’, the result was more than satisfying!

The photo features Sea Salt and Pepper Crackers=)

Cottage Loaf  (from bewitchingkitchen.com) – will make a lovely loaf even if you don’t manage to keep its original shape! (see the link)
Ingredients:

Preferment
140g all-purpose flour
140g bread flour – for want of bread flour, I used about 25 g whole wheat flour + wheat bran
2/4 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp instant yeast
170g water

Final dough:
All the preferment
225g bread flour – again, I used a bit of whole wheat flour along with all-purpose
45g rye flour
3/4 tsp sea salt –  I used table salt
1 tsp instant yeast
170g water, at room temperature

Method: (I’m copying the recipe)

Preferment:
Mix the two kinds of flour, salt, and yeast in a bowl. Add the water, mix briefly and let it rest for 10 minutes. Knead the dough briefly, allow it to rise for 1 hour at room temperature, then stick it in the fridge overnight.

Dough:
Remove the preferment from the fridge 1 hour before making the dough, cutting it into pieces to speed up warming up to room temperature. Place in a large bowl. Cut it into pieces with a knife or pastry cutter, and place them in a large mixing bowl.
Add the water and yeast, and stir together, then add the flours and salt. Combine everything into a shaggy mass, allow it to sit for 20 minutes undisturbed. Let the dough rise for 90 minutes, folding the dough at 20 and 45 minutes. Dough should rise not more than double its original size.
Weigh the dough (it should be around 900g), divide in two pieces (600g and 300g each), form each piece into a tight round. [As I don’t have tsssss kitchen scale, I just cut my dough into 1/3 and 2/3] Allow them to sit for 15 minutes at room temperature, then coat the large ball with a little olive oil, cut a cross on top. Cut a cross on the bottom part of the smaller ball, and place it on top of the large one.
Slash the dough all around, cutting through both levels (I did very superficial cuts). Place the bread in the oven @ 215 ‘C, cover it with an inverted roasting pan moist with hot water, bake it for 30 minutes, uncover and allow it to bake for another 15 minutes (if top layer is browning too much, protect it with aluminium foil).  Allow to completely cool on a rack before slicing through.

The result is on this photo, aided by sun which I usually miss during the work day!

Cannot promise you when I come back… But I will!

G.

Say something...

