French recipe · pies

1 Idea for 2 Delicious Dinners

As you might know, I spent one year in Strasbourg, France (yes, people, it’s in France=), which is close to the Lorraine region, and together with Alsace where Strasbourg is, they are both infamous for being disputed over for years. You see, even now people still think Strasbourg is in Germany! Well, at least they know that Cannes has never been situated in Africa =)) So, as the two regions are that close, they also share some recipes, as for example, Quiche Lorraine, which I tried on my birthday somewhere around midnight at one of the central restaurants in Stras (as we call it), and believe me, the Quiche was … dreadful! Maybe it was just that one shouldn’t ask much around midnight? Or… well, I dunno =) It was too greasy, with no taste and as if not baked but… fried?!

Here it is, I found it! hahaha=) with a giant portion of Choucroute in the background (I didn’t order it, don’t worry=)!

I have dozens of hundreds of photos featuring Stras, they’re all on DVDs already for lack of space on my laptop, but I just happen to have this photo in a folder with some photos from that period! Well, don’t worry, your Quiche (see further for a recipe) won’t be that dreadful!

Well, Strasbourg is a gorgeous city (and just dressed-to-kill during the Noël times!), a bit hostile though when you’re there alone. But I was not alone, of course. This post goes to my overseas friend Katie, whom I met in Stras and with whom we enjoyed hiking, Christmas market ‘window shopping’ and baking crêpes. Ah, yes, also drinking French wine and eating all kinds of cheese, notably for me Roquefort for the first and last time in my life (just hated it!), and all that eating was for free, total halyava! (the term explanation’s here). We keep writing letters to each other, none of us being in France any more. But I think we’ll remember our French days (although I now tend not to believe that I actually lived there, so incredible as it seems to me two years after), well, forever, cause they were truly … je ne sais quoi =) Right, Katie?

I’ve been meaning to use the dough in my freezer that is there from January already, when I made a considerable batch of different kinds of dough, cookies, biscotti etc. for my Mother to bake during my stay in Greece (unlike me she doesn’t enjoy cooking, but just has to). So, last week I took two balls of dough from the freezer which already lost their tags and thus nothing prevented them from looking just like pizza dough… As they were thawing away I understood they were not yeast dough, but pastry =) So I had to change plans, searching for a recipe for some pie instead of pizza where you can virtually throw in just about anything. That evening my friend Tanya was coming (we happen to get a job in one large corporation without knowing it!), we wanted to make pizza night. And so the pizza night turned into pie night!

Later, I found the paper where I had written baking instructions for my Mom and I somehow deduced that the dough balls I defrosted were Olive Oil Pie Pastry apparently with my addition of some rye flour. I’m copying the recipe further on.

NO photo for this pie, although we baked one together and then the next evening I made another one with the rest of the dough.  It just disappeared so quickly and also when I bake in the evening, the light is awful for my photo camera, besides the chances to snatch at least some piece in the morning are second to nil =) So I’m posting some of my Strasbourg photos for a change.

This is our version, suitable for vegetarians, as there’s no traditional lardon/bacon in it. But you can certainly add some, although to my mind (don’t be misled, I still remember the taste of bacon, especially that in my midnight Quiche!) the bacon will add the ‘grease’/’meat’ already provided by olives!

Quiche à la Tanya & Georgia (adapted from everywhere and nowhere=) will help you solve the dinner problem!

Ingredients

for the crust (=Olive Oil Pie Pastry from kathdedon.wordpress.com visit this blog for great instructions with photos!) ATTENTION! will make enough for 2 pies!

  • 2¼ cups (270 g) all purpose flour – you can substitute some with rye or whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ½ cup extra light (mild tasting) olive oil
  • 6 Tbs cold milk

for the ‘body’ of your Quiche (will make enough for one somewhat standard round pie)

  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1 cup of sour cream
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 Tbs all purpose flour
  • salt, pepper to taste
  • a half of a small onion, chopped
  • 50 g cheese, grated + a bit to scatter over the top
  • fresh parsley or any herbs, chopped
  • dried basil, oregano, Herbes de Provence, etc. to taste
  • black olives, chopped
  • a bit of chilli pepper, chopped, optional

Method

If you happen to have already pie pastry or a ready-baked pie crust, any type will do, skip this part:

1. Combine the flour and salt in a bowl.

2. Measure the olive oil in a 1-cup measuring cup. Put the 6 tablespoons of milk in the same cup with the oil.

3. Add the oil and milk to the flour all at once and stir with a fork just until it can be formed into a ball.

4. Form the dough into a ball. Cut half of the dough and put it on a sheet of waxed paper (If you put a little water under the bottom of the waxed paper, it won’t slide around when you roll out the dough, suggests the author). Flatten it with your hand; put another sheet of waxed paper on top and roll the dough out to the edges of the paper. – As at the moment of baking I didn’t know which dough I was using, I didn’t follow these instructions and just stretched the piece of dough to the size of my skillet, which I lightly greased.

5. Carefully remove the top sheet of waxed paper. Lift the bottom sheet and dough up and put it paper-side up over the pie plate. Carefully remove the waxed paper and fit the dough into the pie plate.

Reserve the second piece for next evening in the fridge, wrapped in cling film, or keep it frozen (also wrapped) for indefinite future =) just don’t forget to tag it right!

Now on to the ‘body’ of your Quiche

As we didn’t have any clear instructions how to make the filling, we just whisked the milk with sour cream and eggs, then added grated cheese, herbs, chopped olives and onion, flour and of course seasoned the mixture.The olives added pleasant ehmmmm meat? to the filling, I mean that with their oil and easy-to-spot taste, the olives where just right!

Pour the mixture onto the crust (you can scatter a bit of semolina onto the crust beforehand if you dread a soggy crust. The semolina will take in some of the extra liquid) and put it into the preheated to 200 ‘C oven for, say, 10 min. Than open the oven, scatter the remaining grated cheese on top and bake for further 20 min at 200. You can also switch on your fan (if your oven has one) for some time, to get cheese melting nicely, but do not overdo your Quiche or you’ll get a hard crust.

From the Cathedral

Bonne semaine à tous, mes enfants !

G.

UPD

Photo of an already gobbled down quiche. I once again used the frozen dough, this time making a carnivorous version with red hot yep chilli pepper =) I also added some champignons and more herbs. They say it was nice though quite hehe hot=)

Say something...

