sweet · sweet bread

Cranberry Bread Revisited

One of the things I’ve recently baked was Cranberry bread from A Treasury Of Cookbook Classics by John Butler (one of our first beautifully illustrated books with mouth-watering recipes that contained all the impossible ingredients, in awful Russian translation, but still comprehensible; no Wikipedia entry for him, I’ve already checked=) ). I should rather say that I re-made it cause it was one of the things we baked with my soul-mate Tanya, back in our school days when we both studied together. There’s a joke that in order to see each other we just need to demolish a building that stands right between our homes =) There are lots of other jokes, for sure, who would believe we’re friends already for 10 YEARS?!??!?! Wohoooo!

Cranberry bread in autumn light

So this bread goes for you, also it’s a bit Finnish, don’t you think, Tanya? =) You will understand, as you always do.

And also finally I did it with CRANBERRIES and not with blackcurrants or whatever we used back then. I’ve recently been to Auchan, a place where you can find some rare goods and shop cheaply, and found there not THAT expensive dried cranberries, so I had been looking for a recipe with cranberries when I suddenly recalled this one. However, I did make some changes, this is normal for me. Bread is very nice, not over sweet and somewhere between a stollen and a coffee cake, cause there’s hardly any liquid in it when it’s baked. I’ll make a double translation here: first this book was translated from English into Russian apparently by a I’ve-never-been-to-any-kitchen translator and now I’m translating back it into English. Here we go:

original recipe from Butler's book with some memorabilia

Cranberry Bread (adapted from A Treasury Of Cookbook Classics by John Butler, 1998 in Russian translation, p. 266)

Ingredients

  • 300 g flour (3 cups)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 4 Tbs butter
  • 150 g white sugar
  • 100 g walnuts, chopped – I used less
  • 1 Tbs lemon zest, grated – I used orange zest from the freezer
  • 1 egg – I used 1 whole + the leftovers from another recipe, I recommend using at least 1 LARGE egg
  • 150 ml orange juice – I had only homemade apple juice and it went OK
  • 200 g cranberries (the translation says ‘fresh’ but I guess from the photo it’s dried) – I used less
  • 1 Tbs milk
  • brown sugar for sprinkling on top (my addition)

heart, nuts and berries

Method

Preheat oven to 175 C. Grease a baking pan 22x12x7 cm (a common rectangular bread pan, mine is from glass) lightly, line the bottom with parchment paper and grease it too (I just lined the pan with paper and greased it a bit).

Mix the flour with baking powder and salt. Cut in the butter. Add white sugar, nuts and zest. Mix slightly.

In a different bowl beat the egg till foamy, then add the juice while stirring.

Mix the egg mixture with the dry ingredients. Add berries.

with an apple

Place the batter in the pan (it’s gonna be quite thick, especially if you follow the ingredients instructions precisely), even the top with a spatula. Brush with milk and scatter some (brown) sugar on top.

Bake 1 h 15 min till a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean (I had to cover the top with aluminium foil during the last 15 min or so cause I was afraid the colour will be a bit toooooo brown). Remove from the oven, run a sharp knife between the pan and the bread, turn the pan over, remove the pan and the paper. Cool (and enjoy!).

with a homemade chocolate

The recipe says 10 portions but I would say it’s TOO LITTLE for 10 portions!! And it also says each portion contains 287 calories, hehe=) Ah, yes, it also suggests serving it for πρωινό, Ι mean, breakfast (zavtrak in Russian) but, well, for me it can suit any time of the day, really.

I guess it would be equally (if not more) nice with some whole wheat flour to make it healthier and more ‘rustique‘.

Have a very warm and cozy weekend, people, with lots of light and tea. I have a whole week of job seeking (and being job-seeking-sick) in front of me, cause I’m, yep-yep, still unemployed.

with my Greek tea cup

Good night, sleep tight and listen to good music when you wake up tomorrow!

G.

Say something...

